Gallop 2012

Follow us on Facebook “Gaddesby Gallop”

The 2012 Gaddesby Gallop was held in the rain on Saturday 22 December. After a wet autumn the fields were soaking underfoot and the ponds and brooks full. Unsurprisingly the times were slower than last year where the course record time of 30:04 was set in much drier conditions.  See here for a map of the route.

On the day Nick Cobley (Roadhoggs Leicester AC) won in a time of 41:21 followed by Ashley Miles (Coventry Sphinx AC) in 42:01 and third place went to John Crewe (Stamford Tri Club) in 42:33. First lady finisher was Laura Davison (West End Runners) in a time of 46:11 followed by Christine Howard (Matlock AC) in 48:25 and Caroline Scott (Sinfin) in 48:44. Nick and Laura’s names will be added to the trophy kept the The Cheney Arms.

First local finisher was Gaddesby’s Tristan Grigalis in a time of 48:34. First local lady was Laura Hargrave, also from Gaddesby in a time of 1:17:51.

There were 107 entrants – a lower number than anticipated but to be expected given the weather on the day. This year the race was supported by local pub The Cheney Arms and trophies were provided by Everards.

Any surplus made this year will be donated to Claire Warrington and Sharon Chapman’s appeal for Melton Mencap. Gaddesby’s Claire and Sharon are planning to walk along the Great Wall of China in April 2013.

The course record of 30:04 was set in 2011 by Mark Powell (Wigston Phoenix). Lady’s course record is 37:32 set by Gemma Steele in 2006.