Gaddesby Gallop

The Gaddesby Gallop is a five and a quarter mile cross country race held on a Saturday morning before Christmas.

In 2015 was held on Saturday 19th December at 11:00.  Follow the link for the results as a spreadsheet.


For the latest news see our Facebook page.

It was first held in 2002 along a route between Gaddesby, Barsby and Ashby Folville devised by Jeff Bodycott and Dave Ford.  The course was slightly lengthened the following year and officially incorporated the dew  pond – through which 2002 winner John Collingham had led the first race.  The route also incorporates a length of four foot diameter drainage pipe and a wade along a length of the Gaddesby Brook.

Past winners include Gemma Steel, now a member of the Great Britain Cross Country team, who held off Sally Newman in 2006 despite running with one stockinged foot having lost a shoe halfway round the course.

The race was revived in 2011 by Lance Shaw and Jeff Bodycott.  The winner, Mark Powell of Wigston Phoenix,  set a course record time of 30:04.  Lance and Jeff intend the race to be an annual event and have put together a trophy with the name of all the previous winners wich takes  pride of place in the Cheney Arms.

Gaddesby Gallop Map

Results and Reports

Gallop 2002    Gallop 2003    Gallop 2004    Gallop 2005    Gallop 2006    Gallop 2011 Gallop 2013 Gallop 2014